top of page

YOUTHBUILD

PROGRAM

At YouthBuild, low-income young people learn construction skills to help build affordable housing and other community assets such as community centers and schools.

ABOUT YOUTHBUILD PROGRAM

There are an estimated 4.9 million young adults ages 16-24 in America who are neither in work nor school. Of these, there are estimated to be as many as 3 million youth living in poverty who are not in education, employment or training.  These are the opportunity youth with whom YouthBuild programs around the country work.

Globally, over 200 million youth are working poor and earning less than $2.00 a day. All are in urgent need of pathways to education, jobs, entrepreneurship, and other opportunities leading to productive livelihoods and community leadership.

YouthBuild programs provide those pathways. All over the world they unleash the positive energy of low-income young people to rebuild their communities and their lives, breaking the cycle of poverty with a commitment to work, education, family, and community. 

PROGRAM DETAILS

  • In the course of their full-time enrollment, our YouthBuild participants:

  • Achieve their high school equivalency credentials or high school diplomas in a caring individualized context 

  • Obtain job skills and earn a stipend, wage, or living allowance  for building affordable, increasingly green housing for homeless and low-income people in their communities 

  • Gain industry-recognized certifications in preparation for productive careers (in addition to construction, some train for jobs in healthcare, technology, or  customer service)

  • Solve personal problems with counseling support, addressing urgent needs for housing or child care, record expungement, or other problems

  • Give back and lead through participation in community service and advocating for their communities on the local and national levels

  • Transition into post-program placements, in college, registered apprenticeships, other postsecondary opportunities, and employment, with the support of a transition coordinator and mentors

Construction-removebg-preview.png

OUR PARTNERS

COS_HomePage_Logo.png
COS_HomePage_logo-text.png
SWTJC.png
  • Texas Locations
    Crystal City 123 W Zavala St Crystal City, Texas 78839 ​ Phone: (830)-374-2723 Fax: 830-374-5465 Mr. Frailan Sendejo Email: crystalcity@metinc.org Eagle Pass - American Jobs Center ​ 1200 Ferry St Eagle Pass, Texas 78852 ​ Phone: (830)-773-1191 Direct: (830)-757-6156 Fax: (830)-757-3080 Ms. Diana Aguinaga Email: eaglepass@metinc.org Edinburg - American Jobs Center ​ 2719 W University Dr Edinburg, Texas 78539 ​ Mailing: PO Box 3669 Edinburg, Texas 78540 ​ Phone: (956)-289-4532 Fax: (956)-289-4593 ​ Ms. Ramona Solis Email: edinburg@metinc.org Laredo ​ 1406 Jackaman Rd, Ste A Laredo, Texas 78041 ​ Phone: (956)-722-3943 Fax: (956)-722-7508 ​ Email: laredo@metinc.org Plainview ​ 927 Broadway St Plainview, Texas 79072 ​ Phone: (806)-293-4457 Fax: (806)-293-8632 Ms. Rachel Salazar Email: plainview@metinc.org Weslaco - One Stop ​ 2290 West Pike Blvd, #100 Weslaco, Texas 78596 ​ Mailing: PO Box 94 Weslaco, Texas 78599 ​ Telephone: (956)-969-6147 Fax: (956)-969-6196 ​ Ms. Dominga Ortiz Email: weslaco@metinc.org
  • Louisiana Locations
    Monroe - American Jobs Center 24 Accent Dr, Ste 151 Monroe, LA 71202 Telephone: (318)-362-3024 Email: monroe@metinc.org Ms. Kandace Bowman New Iberia - American Jobs Center 601 Ember Dr New Iberia, Louisiana 70560 ​ Telephone: (844)-385-1919 Ext 7020 Email: newiberia@metinc.org ​ Ms. Tonett Jefferson Winnsboro ​ 1408 Landis St Winnsboro, Louisiana 71295 ​ Telephone: (318)-435-8885 Fax: (318)-435-8887 ​Email: winnsboro@metinc.org Ms. Lakisha Thomas
  • North Dakota Locations
    Fargo - American Jobs Center ​ 1350 32nd St S Fargo, ND 58103 ​ Telephone: 701-478-7760 ​Email: fargo@metinc.org Grafton - American Jobs Center ​ 45 West 6th Street Grafton, ND 58237 ​ Telephone: 701-352-4903 Fax: 701-352-0343 ​Email: grafton@metinc.org Ms. Claribel Almonte Wahpeton - American Jobs Center ​ 524 2nd Ave N Wahpeton, ND 58075 ​ Telephone: 701-672-0464 Email: wahpeton@metinc.org or breckenridge@metinc.org
  • Minnesota Locations
    Moorhead - American Jobs Center ​ 715 11th St North, #6 Moorhead, MN 56560 Telephone: 218-284-9930 Fax: 218-284-9931 Email: moorhead@metinc.org Waseca - American Jobs Center ​ 212 15th Ave NE, #1015 Waseca, MN 56093 ​ Telephone: 507-310-8384 Fax: 507-310-8193 ​Email: waseca@metinc.org Ms. Ariana Boelter Willmar - American Jobs Center ​​ 2200 23rd St NE, Ste 2040 Willmar, MN 56201 ​ Telephone: 320-441-6599 Fax: 320-214-3337 Email: willmar@metinc.org ​ Ms. Suzanna Uvalle
  • Wyoming Locations
    Powell 143 S Bent St, #F Powell, Wyoming 82435 Phone: (307)-764-2330 Fax: (307)-764-2330 Email: powell@metinc.org

RESOURCES

Youthbuild.png
DOL-logo.png
bottom of page